Favorite Christmas Films

Hello there!

I can’t believe its already December! This year has gone so fast and so many amazing things happened for me in 2015, and I’m excited to end the year celebrating the holidays with family. I thought today I would share with you some of my favorite movies to watch during the holiday season. Its not Christmas for me without binge watching a ton of holiday films. Just taking time to relax with loved ones, drink hot chocolate, eat some holiday treats, and soak in some classic films is a must!

These are a few that I actually own as a 23 year old, and a lot of my favorites are at my families house. I’m learning as I get older I have to start investing in these classic films because I can’t always take movies from my mom’s (especially when I live 2 hours away), and it’s just nice to have your own collection to enjoy every year.

IMG_2272.JPGThe Polar Express is a classic that I normally watch every year with my mom. Before the film the book was one I remember reading every year during elementary school so it always feels sentimental. IMG_2276.JPGLove Actually is one of my favorite holiday films! It has multiple story lines that all connect in some way. This movie just makes me happy every year I watch it.IMG_2277.JPGNothing feels more festive to me than watching The Santa Clause. This is simply a classic. I like to call Tim Allen the king of Christmas films, because every one he is in I LOVE! Christmas With the Kranks, which won’t be pictured, is another great of his Christmas movies.IMG_2283.JPGHow do you feel about sequels? I must say that I LOVE this sequel. I honestly feel it’s almost as great as the first. I always watch these consecutively and I think the story is just great, and I love Tim Allen’s holiday films. I must admit though that the third is a total let down. I’m not sure what happened with that film, but it doesn’t give me the same great story and festive feeling the first two do so I always pass on watching the third. IMG_2284.JPGEloise at Christmas Time is a great film I love watching this time of years because it’s such a fun film. It has Julie Andrews, who is amazing, so you definitely can’t go wrong with this one. IMG_2290.JPGI shared this film in my Halloween film recommendations and I feature it here too because I love watching it at Christmas time. I love Tim Burton films and this is a great one for the entire holiday season.IMG_2323.JPGAnother classic film for Christmas is Home Alone. Every year this is a film I have to watch. My husband prefers the second to the first film, but personally I love the first. If you want to feel Christmas-y watch one of these and it’s sure to get you into the season. IMG_2301.JPGIt wouldn’t be a Christmas movie marathon without a few tear jerkers to cherish the holiday season. One of my favorites is The Family Stone. I love  films that feature a large ensemble cast, and make it a holiday movie and I’ll love it even more. I break this one out every year with a box of tissues and a blanket, and I definitely recommend you do too. IMG_2318.JPGNot as much of a tear jerker as the previous film, but this one definitely tugs at the heart strings as well. I love all the actors in this one, and the fact that it’s a holiday film makes it even better. If you want a romantic Christmas movie this one is for you. IMG_2321.JPGAnother great tear jerker is Step Mom. I always have a large box of tissues on hand when I watch this film. This one really makes you cry your eyes out. It’s a great film to watch if you need to clear your sinus’s lol. I love watching this film around Christmas time and the two lead female actresses are just amazing strong women who give great performances in this film. IMG_2325.JPGThese films are all favorites for this time of year and there are so many I didn’t even mention!

This time of year always reminds me how important it is to spend time with friends and family and really appreciate the moments we get to share and cherish them. Watching movies is a great way to spend time together which is why it’s one of my favorite things to do this time of year.

Do you have any favorite holiday films I didn’t mention? Love any I mentioned? Let me know! I love finding new movies to watch.

Ashley Amelia 🙂

Leave a Reply

