Music & Mood

canvas

Hello,

So I’m trying still to get into a rhythm of blogging everyday, but I’ve found it a little difficult to post at a consistent time everyday because of my work schedule. So I’m planning on working out a consistent rhythm, but until then I’ll continue to post daily in the wee hours of the evening.

This week has been a bit crazy for me trying to get back into work mode and reorganizing my tiny apartment that I have outgrown. So I thought today I’d share with you one of the easiest ways for me to either unwind or just get myself into a really good mood, which is to put on some music. This works for the majority of people, I’d imagine, so I thought I’d share a few of my favorites with you.

canvas5There is no reasoning behind the paring up of any of these albums just to let you know, I simply wanted to minimize the amount of photos to make this a little more readable.

The Peter Pan album is one my husband got me a few years back along with a bunch of other Disney albums. Simply put, I love it! I absolutely love Disney and the cover alone of this album makes me happy and when I really want to be in a good mood Disney music always works so I just pop this on. As for Best Coast, I love California, which is where I am from and have always lived, and their music just makes me think of everything great about CA and makes me happy instantly.

canvas6When I really want to jam out Tom Petty and Springsteen both happen to be my go to. Their music is just so fun and upbeat, and is great music to blast really loud. Thunder Road is definitely a go to song to just blare. I’ve seen both these guys in concert and I have to say that Springsteen was one of my top favorite performers live. The man crowd surfed in his 60s! What is better than that?? I know, nothing. 🙂

canvas2Normally my husband and I don’t see eye to eye on music interests. Although I have him coming around to listening to more of what I like. However, we both share a love for Billy Joel. Just this past September we were able to see him perform at AT&T Park in SF and it was absolutely amazing! One of my top favorites. He was so funny, chatted up the crowd a lot, played every single song we wanted to hear, and quite simply so much fun to sing and dance along with. If you ever need a pick me up just throw on some Billy Joel and he will help you out I promise.

canvas4A little bit of classics is always good to have on hand and both of these records are great one’s for making you feel good. You can never go wrong with Sinatra or Count Basie. & the Isley Brothers are just so relaxing to listen to so they are great to wind down to .

canvas3Lastly a favorite classic of mine and a new favorite who is going to be a classic. Bob Dylan is one of my favorite artists, I’ve seen him live 3 times and I’m amazed every time. He has music for every mood you are looking to be set in and he just doesn’t stop going ever. Leon Bridges is fairly new and has quickly become one of my favorites. If you love Sam Cooke you will love this guy. His song, Coming Home, was my husband and I’s first dance song at our wedding and the first time I heard it it brought me to tears. His music is filled with so much passion and emotion that I can’t wait for more music to come.

As one might notice a lot of my favorite artists to listen to are fairly old, and that is a thing I attribute to being raised on the music my mom liked which was oldies. So naturally it’s the music I know and love and you can never go wrong with classics.

What music do you use to unwind? Or put you in a certain mood? We all do it so let me know, I’d love to hear your favorites.

Ashley 🙂

Leave a Reply

