What I’ve Learned About Love

IMG_0507

Hello friends!

It’s been a little over a month since I got married and this is the biggest commitment I’ve ever made, and honestly ever will. Just a little background info, my husband and I have known each other since middle school, started dating seriously after high school, moved away to college together, and after graduating this past June we were married in September. He is my rock, the love of my life, and the person I know is there for me for better or worse.

I just thought I’d share 3 things about relationships that being with him has taught me.

  1. Compromise, it’s one of the hardest things to do and also one of the easiest. Rather than spending time fighting over an issue sometimes one of us has to be the bigger person and give in to the other. The important thing is that this goes both ways. Sometimes you have to do what makes the other person happy, and out of that you also become happy seeing how happy they become.
  2. Say I love you regularly, which seems so simple but it is something so easy to forget. Either when in the middle of a fight or just caught up in the business of everyday work and life it can be easy to forget to remind each other of your love. I have seen in my own experiences relationships that forget to do this, and even though it’s such a simple thing to do it makes a world of difference. When my husband and I get into an argument it’s easy to stay angry and get caught up in your emotions, so we always try to stop and remind each other that we both love one another and nothing can take that away.
  3. Remember the small things, because those make a huge difference. For me what matters and lets me know my husband cares is all the small simple things that can usually go unnoticed. For example when he isn’t working he makes a point to cook me a good home cooked meal, he always brings a glass of water to bed for me because I can never remember to (even though I have to have one), and we both consider each other in decision making. Those can seem like trivial things that don’t matter to many people but to me they do, and in your relationship it’s the little things important to you that when noticed and appreciated make a difference.

In a sense these three things all go together. Always compromise, and remind each other of the love you found in one another, and make sure that not even the small things you do for each other get taken for granted.

This is the sequoia tree we were married under
This is the sequoia tree we were married under

What are some of your relationship tips? Do you have any marriage advice??

Leave a Reply

