Favorite FIlms To Watch In The Fall

Hello once more!

I thought today I would share some of my favorite films to watch during fall (as the title suggests ha). Film is one of my absolute favorite things to talk about, to fill my time with, and to study. Which is why I got my bachelor’s degree in Film & Digital Media. This time of year happens to be one of my favorites just for film reasons, because of all the films related to fall that put me in a great mood when I watch them.

Some of these are specifically Halloween related, and some are just movies that involve the season of fall in the film.

Halloween specific films first!

IMG_1611

Monster House is one of my favorites to watch this time of year because the story revolves around the three main characters trying to fight a monster house, as the title suggests, and it takes place during Halloween. A great film to watch to get you in a Halloween mood.

IMG_1638Hocus Pocus is a classic that every Halloween I’ve watched with my family for as long as I can remember. If you watch any Halloween movie at all during this time of year this one has to be it. It’s comedic, has its jumpy points, and Bette Midler sings. You can’t go wrong with any of that so go watch it!IMG_1604Now this film is great for both Halloween and Christmas, as the film’s story is based around those two holidays. So it’s a great one to break out for Halloween, and honestly a great one all year round. Tim Burton is a genius to say the least. So make yourself a cup of tea or hot chocolate and put this one on and I promise it will put you in a great seasonal mood.

These next films either just involve the fall time of year or have darker theme’s that make them a good one to watch around this time.

IMG_1592This is a compilation of five Hitchcock films and Psycho and The Birds are two great films for this time of year because they’re both frightening. The first time I seen The Birds every time I heard a squawking bird it petrified me, and I must include that I think it’s just horrible that they’re remaking a classic. So check one of these out, or honestly any Hitchcock film as it’s guaranteed to be suspenseful or frightful, and definitely entertaining.

These next films are all collaborations between Tim Burton and Johnny Depp which are great for all year around, and especially fun to watch this time of year. IMG_1627IMG_1600IMG_1621IMG_1623Another favorite film, or films rather, to watch around this time of year are the Harry Potter films. I also love to watch these at Christmas time, and all year really, but this is the time where I really love to spend a whole day bundled up enjoying these massively entertaining films. IMG_1603Lastly, one of my favorite genre’s has to be romance. There are a few films that I really get an itching to watch a million times during this season, and especially throughout the year when I really wish it were fall. That would be these Nora Ephron films:

Joe Fox: "Don't you love New York in the fall? It makes me wanna buy school supplies. I would send you a bouquet of newly sharpened pencils if I knew your name and address. On the other hand, this not knowing has its charms."
Joe Fox: “Don’t you love New York in the fall? It makes me wanna buy school supplies. I would send you a bouquet of newly sharpened pencils if I knew your name and address. On the other hand, this not knowing has its charms.”
Harry Burns: "I came here tonight because when you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody, you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible. "
Harry Burns: “I came here tonight because when you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody, you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible. “

I’ve watched this film so many time’s that I’ve lost the case for good I think.

IMG_1631Quick thing to note, I’m an avid DVD/Blu Ray movie buyer. There’s just something about having the physical copy that makes me feel complete.

What are some of your favorite films to watch during the fall? I really hate horror films, but if someone recommends one I usually will try to watch it. Any good scary ones??

Ashley 🙂

Leave a Reply

