Fall/Winter Nail Polish Favorites!

Hello!

One of my absolute favorite things is to have my nails painted. For the longest time I had a job where I wasn’t allowed to wear nail polish and the minute I didn’t work there anymore you can say that I went a little nail polish crazy. I used to go and get my nails done at the salon but then I thought to myself that for the price I’m paying I could purchase multiple nail polish’s and get so many more manicures out of it. It definitely took practice in doing my nails to get them to look decent, but it was fun learning and I save a ton of money this way. Also I like to change up my color quite often and I find it would be a waste to go to the salon when I change color so often. The fall and winter seasons in particular are one of my favorites not just because the holiday’s, but because I love all the dark nail colors. I try during summer to rock a bright color, but once September rolls around it’s straight to the festive dark fall colors for my nails. I thought I’d share with you my staple nail colors that I use every year around this time, and a couple new buys as well.

(from left to right) bell-bottom blues, mochacino, chinchilly, fall in line, dress to kilt, bahama mama, fashionista 471, Vixen 570
(from left to right) Bell-bottom blues, Mochacino, Chinchilly, Fall in line, Dress to kilt, Bahama mama, Fashionista 471, Vixen 570

I also bought another new Essie color from their current AW15 collection, but I can’t seem to locate where I put it which is a bummer. Anyways! The first color Bell-bottom blues is a new one from their AW15 range and it’s a gorgeous dark blue but it also has shimmer in it. I’m not a shimmer nail polish kind of girl, but I love this color! It’s not to much shimmer but just enough to give it a more rock and roll vibe to it. I think it will be great for the winter.

Essie: Bell-bottom blues
Essie: Bell-bottom blues

That next color Mochacino is also a new one for me, and it’s a great neutral color to have for this season. It’s neutral and also has a shimmer quality to it. Not to repeat myself, but again I normally do not like shimmery polish but it works so well for this color. Since it’s such a neutral color the shimmer gives it that extra kick to make it a pretty color for the festive time of year.

Essie: Mochacino
Essie: Mochacino

Chinchilly has to be a staple color I honestly wear all year long because it’s so neutral but also unique at the same time. It’s a grayish purple color and it works with any outfit and is also forgiving when it does begin to chip as it isn’t that noticeable. As you can tell this bottle is pretty low, and this is a color I constantly find myself repurchasing.

Essie: Chinchilly
Essie: Chinchilly

Fall in line is a color from last years fall collection if I can remember right, and I was drawn to it because it was a gorgeous dull forest green color I hadn’t seen anywhere else. Usually the green’s are minty or they don’t look green when put on the nail, but this color really goes on as it looks in the bottle. & It’s not a shimmery green which many also happen to be which I’m not the biggest fan of.

Essie: Fall in line
Essie: Fall in line

Dress to kilt is a gorgeous bright dark red which I start wearing usually once Thanksgiving is over. It’s great for winter because its dark but also a very bright and cheery red. This also happens to be the color I wore on my nails the night I got engaged so it holds a special place in my heart for that reason.

Essie: Dress to kilt
Essie: Dress to kilt

Bahama mama is a favorite of mine because it’s a gorgeous purple wine color that’s a great alternative to wearing a red color. For the cold months its a great strong color to wear that stands out and always makes me feel a bit festive.

Essie: Bahama mama
Essie: Bahama mama

All of these first colors were all from the Essie brand of polish and that’s because that is my favorite brand to use. I’ve tried a mix of brands and this one is great because the brush is so easy to use, the colors go on as they appear without having to do too many layers, they have a great color selection, and the pricing is not that bad at all. These next two polish’s are from Revlon which also has a great selection for about half the price of Essie. I like their polish because the brush is also easy to use and they offer great colors. This first color is called Fashionista, and it’s a gorgeous dark blue that also has a great bright quality to it. Although it’s dark when it’s hit by the light it makes me think of a icy dark blue, which is why I love it for the winter months.

Revlon: Fashionista 471
Revlon: Fashionista 471

Vixen is a gorgeous dark purple brown wine like color (if that makes sense, ha). I love it for this time of year because it has a certain vampy quality to it that I just love.

Revlon: Vixen 570
Revlon: Vixen 570

The more neutral colorsIMG_1312The darker colorsIMG_1309

Here are a few shots of the colors on my own nails

I've had this polish on for a week and it barely started to chip!
I’ve had this polish on for a week and it barely started to chip!
(from left to right) Fashionista, Bell-bottom blues, Fall in line, and Chinchilly
(from left to right) Fashionista, Bell-bottom blues, Fall in line, and Chinchilly

IMG_1357

(from left to right) Dress to Kilt, Bahama mama, and Vixen
(from left to right) Dress to Kilt, Bahama mama, and Vixen

IMG_1364

Having your nails done, for me at least, really helps me feel my outfit is complete and just puts me in a great mood. When I’m having a down day I can paint my nails and it will always instantly help lift my spirits. So if you wanna feel good or just really help put that final touch on your outfit I suggest painting on one of these festive colors. Practice makes perfect so if you aren’t the greatest at doing your own nails start with a neutral and work your way into playing with darker colors. All of these photos are unedited so the color should appear just as you see it here. Hopefully this inspires you to jazz up your nails this season.

Have a great day!

Ashley 🙂

Leave a Reply

